Season After Pentecost: The Psalms Passage – A Seeker speaks to the Psalmist

Psalmist: “You who live in the shelter of the Most High, who abide in the shadow of the Almighty,
will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress; my God, in whom I trust.”

Seeker C: I trust in God with all my heart and soul, all of my body and spirit. But the way is hard, and long, and I grow weary.
Psalmist: “For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence;
he will cover you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness is a shield and buckler.”

Seeker C: I feel the Lord’s presence during the day, and sleep under the wing of the Lord’s protection at night. But I see danger all around me, I feel illness creeping closer, and I hear on the wind the sounds of hatred, aggression and war.
Psalmist: “You will not fear the terror of the night, or the arrow that flies by day, or the pestilence that stalks in darkness, or the destruction that wastes at noonday.” (Psalm 91:1-6)

Seeker C: Is that to be a command or a comfort?! Your world is not my world! Your reality is not my reality. I know your words are meant to comfort me and assure me of the Lord’s presence in the world and in my life. And I want to believe that; but when I am ill and weak and my breath is taken from me as the gales of the storm whip through the strong trees, I tremble and am afraid!

Psalmist: “Those who love me, I will deliver; I will protect those who know my name.”
Seeker C: What does “deliverance” mean? That I will not suffer? That the things of this world will not burden me or consume me? For that is not true. But my soul and spirit rest in the Lord, and the person that I am, who the Lord created, will not be deterred or stopped by the evil and illness that is in this world.
Psalmist: “When they call to me, I will answer them; I will be with them in trouble, I will rescue them and honor them.”

Seeker C: Psalmist, you have optimist view of the world. Surely tragedy has touched your life, and misfortune has torn asunder what you hoped for yourself and the ones close to you. Yet your faith in the Lord is unshaken. However, it is not your words that give me hope, but the Lord who you have put your hope in that sustains me. Speak the words that the Lord has given you, and I will seek out that Lord in my life.
Psalmist: “With long life I will satisfy them, and show them my salvation.” ( Verses 14-16)

I don’t know about you, beloved reader, but sometimes I just want to engage scripture in conversation and speak directly to the person or persons who first put the words on a page, or spoke them into the oral tradition. And just because they are not with me in person does not mean I cannot speak to them out of my time. When we dialogue with scripture, we can speak to the Spirit who inspired them to write and/or speak. I encourage you, beloved reader, to dialogue with scripture and speak to the Spirit who those writers/speakers drew on. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

