Season After Pentecost: The Old Testament Passage – Promises of hope to come

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will sow the house of Israel and the house of Judah with the seed of humans and the seed of animals. And just as I have watched over them to pluck up and break down, to overthrow, destroy, and bring evil, so I will watch over them to build and to plant, says the Lord. In those days they shall no longer say:
The parents have eaten sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge.”
But all shall die for their own sins; the teeth of everyone who eats sour grapes shall be set on edge.” (Jeremiah 31:27 – 30)

I wanted to follow up my Canadian Thanksgiving monologue (if you will) with some thing cheery, or at least as cheery as some of these scripture passages can get. And truly, as the week unfolds this is the passage that best fulfills cheeriness.

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant that I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt—a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, says the Lord. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, “Know the Lord,” for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the Lord; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more.” (Verses 31 – 34)

In light of the gloominess that the book of Jeremiah usually foretells, this is good news. Hope is coming. At least hope for those that the writer of Jeremiah is addressing. The people of Israel and Judah had many rough roads and tough miles. And in our modern day that has not changed much. The nation of United States has also gone down some rough roads in the past few years. I am not aware of any writer (biblical writer that is) has said that the Lord will make a covenant with the United States, or any other nation for that matter. In Jesus Christ each person receives his/her own personal covenant with the Lord and Jesus Christ. Or that is to say, there is the promise of a covenant if the person will but believe. And there is the rub.

I will not preach or teach to you, beloved reader, about this covenant. I will instead direct you to the Lord God Jesus Christ – to give the Divine the full name treatment. It is not within my power or knowledge to tell you what the covenant that the Divine has in mind for you. It is my task to urge with all my power and might of the written word to seek the Divine out. And to commit to eternity to the covenant. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

