Season After Pentecost: The Gospel Passage – Don’t lose heart!

Then Jesus told them a parable about their need to pray always and not to lose heart.” (Luke 18:1)

This was something that was first taught to me many years ago, although I did not completely incorporate the lesson until I was an adult. It was my paternal grandmother who taught it to me; not through direct teaching but the example she set for me. She was a very determined person and when she set her mind to something, she did not rest until she had achieved the success she wanted and needed. It may not have worked out the way she first thought, but she did not give up until the situation or issue was resolved.

“He said, “In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor had respect for people. In that city there was a widow who kept coming to him and saying, ‘Grant me justice against my opponent.’ For a while he refused; but later he said to himself, ‘Though I have no fear of God and no respect for anyone, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will grant her justice, so that she may not wear me out by continually coming.'” (Verses 2 – 5)

You have to figure the widow knew what type of a person she was up against. And yet she did not give up. That was my grandmother all over; if she could not get things to work out one way, she would try another. And it goes without saying that her faith in God sustained her throughout her life.

“And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says. And will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to him day and night? Will he delay long in helping them? I tell you, he will quickly grant justice to them. And yet, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?” (Verses 6 – 8)

My paternal grandmother passed away many years ago, while I was still a very young adult. I knew her only from the perspective of a child; but as I grew the lessons and example she left behind forged me and nurtured me. Through my own faith I came to learn how her faith must have sustained her, and firm her resolve to ask & work for the things she needed in her life. I can only hope and pray that I can remain as firm in faith as she did. Selah!

P.S. I would like to dedicate this posting to a wonderful lady I meet on the website where others who have Relapsing Polychondritis support each other – Deb, this one is for you!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

