Season After Pentecost: The Psalm Passage – Praising God; This one is for me!

Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion; and to you shall vows be performed,” (Psalms 65:1)

It has been a long hard week for me, although when you read this, it will be last week for me that the week was hard. It is not the point and purpose to retroactively have you live through my distress, beloved reader. What I do want to let you know, is that as I sit down to reflect and write on this passage, I do so with praise and gratitude that God got me through this.

“O you who answer prayer! To you all flesh shall come.
When deeds of iniquity overwhelm us, you forgive our transgressions.
Happy are those whom you choose and bring near to live in your courts.
We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, your holy temple.” (Verses 2 to 4)

While being in the world but not of the world is a good stance to have, we forget and neglect at our peril that the world and all that is earthly and sin in the world has a hold on us and affects us. The sin of others impacts us – sometimes with disastrous consequences. And our sins, I am sure, have impact on others. That is why we pray, “ . . . as we forgive those who trespass against us . . . “ But we pray, “ . . . Forgive us our trespasses . . .” Because we cannot know and go to all the people who we have trespassed against. We can only hope that they pray too, and forgive us.

By awesome deeds you answer us with deliverance, O God of our salvation;
you are the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas.
By your strength you established the mountains; you are girded with might.” (Verses 5 to 6)

In fact, it is only in praying to God that the sins we have committed and influenced others with can be forgiven – when those others are unknown to us. But God knows them, and we can only hope ministers to their hearts and being. And in some Divine way, I hope and pray, our confession and penance is made known to them, and we can all be blessed with forgiveness. The Lord is mighty in this way.


“You silence the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, the tumult of the peoples.
Those who live at earth’s farthest bounds are awed by your signs; you make the gateways of the morning and the evening shout for joy.

You visit the earth and water it, you greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water;
you provide the people with grain, for so you have prepared it.
You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers, and blessing its growth.” (Verses 7 to 10)

In my musing and ponderings, however, I have strayed from the point I initially wanted to make; that was a hard long week, but I got through. There were rough days and nights, but I survived. The Lord God was with me, and comforted me, counseled me, and provided me with what I needed even when I did not know what I needed.

“You crown the year with your bounty; your wagon tracks overflow with richness.
The pastures of the wilderness overflow, the hills gird themselves with joy,
the meadows clothe themselves with flocks, the valleys deck themselves with grain,
they shout and sing together for joy.” (Verses 11 to 13)

How was your week, beloved reader? Were you stressed and tested? Or was it a week that had calm and peace in it? We do not live each other’s lives. A week that may be one way for me, may be quite different for you. But at the end of each week, we lay down our burdens (if not before!) and pause all things to worship the Lord God. It is good for us to do this. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

