Season After Pentecost: The Substitute Psalms Passage – Just plain praising for praising’s sake

Some weeks in the Revised Common Lectionary the “Psalms Passage” is not actually from Psalms but an alternate passage thematic to the day or theme. To be honest, I am not sure this week is not a psalms passage. But it does seem to fit the theme or praise or worship.

“You will say in that day: I will give thanks to you, O LORD, for though you were angry with me, your anger turned away, and you comforted me.”(Isaiah 12:1)

Just yesterday we had Veteran’s Day. I did not mention it at the time because if November 11 had not been on a Friday you would not have heard from me. It is just coincidence that one of the days I write was also Veteran’s Day. Also a coincidence is that yesterday’s scripture passage addressed a particular day and time, just as today’s passage does. I do not think however, beloved reader, that yesterday’s passage that alluded to end times and today’s passage referring to a certain day are the same days.

“Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid, for the LORD GOD is my strength and my might; he has become my salvation. With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.” (Verses 2 – 3)

Every day God is our salvation, and we trust in God not being afraid. So I have to wonder, what day is the writer of Isaiah referring to?

“And you will say in that day: Give thanks to the LORD, call on his name; make known his deeds among the nations; proclaim that his name is exalted.” (Verse 4)

I looked back at chapter 11 of Isaiah and saw that passage was referring to the “small tree that will begin to grow from the stump of Jesse” and that these things will happen on “that day.” It is, in other words, a day to cling to hope and look to the future. To praise the Lord for what the Divine has done and will do.

“Sing praises to the LORD, for he has done gloriously; let this be known in all the earth. Shout aloud and sing for joy, O royal Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.” (Verses 5 to 6)

Every day is a good day to praise the Lord, for there is something to praise the Lord God for every day. May you find reason to praise the Lord God this day. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

