First Week of Advent: The Psalms Passage Year A – Journeying to a better place

Preacher: “I was glad when they said to me, “Let us go to the house of the LORD!”
Seeker: I have not been too many places in the world. I have not traveled much. I have like the places I have seen. And I wish I could see more of this world. But, that might not be a reality for me. I always figured I would see the world in new and wonderful ways once I have passed from this life to the next. But going to the house of the Lord? Yes, I would love to do that, any time!
Preacher: “Our feet are standing within your gates, O Jerusalem.”

Seeker: How good it will be to declare that we are our destination, that our journey is done and we are within the Lord’s Holy City.
Preacher: “Jerusalem built as a city that is bound firmly together.”

Seeker: The Lord’s Holy City is well built, and defended. No one who is not invited is allowed in. All evil and sorrow is kept outside its walls.
Preacher: “To it the tribes go up, the tribes of the LORD, as was decreed for Israel, to give thanks to the name of the LORD.”

Seeker: Every one who knows, and is known by the Lord, goes there. The Lord’s people stream there, and are glad to be there and worship the Lord within the gates.
Preacher: “For there the thrones for judgment were set up, the thrones of the house of David.”

Seeker: But it is not for the faint of heart. Or those who have evil within their hearts. The Lord’s justice is carried out. And the Lord’s will is the law.
Preacher: “Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: “May they prosper who love you.” Peace be within your walls, and security within your towers.”

Seeker: And the Lord’s will and law is shalom for all people. Everyone has what they need, and no one has more than they should. All live together in harmony and accord. Neighbor watches our for neighbor. Love flows from one person to another, and discord is never known.
Preacher: ”For the sake of my relatives and friends I will say, “Peace be within you.” For the sake of the house of the LORD our God, I will seek your good.” (Psalm 122)

Seeker: We do not yet live in the Lord’s Holy City. The world we live in has a mix of good will, good intentions, and discord. There are some who seek to create a city that is like the new Jerusalem. But others want to the old ways, where a person takes what he or she wants and does not consider the other. Where the marginalized and the poor are kept away from abundance, prosperity and justice. This world has many wonders and much beauty. But I long for the Lord’s Holy City. May we all journey towards the House of the Lord, helping each other along the way. And may we create, whenever and wherever we can, the shalom that is within the City of the Lord. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

