Fourth Week of Advent: The Old Testament Passage Year A – NOT living in fear

Again the Lord spoke to Ahaz, saying, Ask a sign of the Lord your God; let it be deep as Sheol or high as heaven. But Ahaz said, I will not ask, and I will not put the Lord to the test. Then Isaiah said: “Hear then, O house of David! Is it too little for you to weary mortals, that you weary my God also? Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Look, the young woman is with child and shall bear a son, and shall name him Immanuel. He shall eat curds and honey by the time he knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good. For before the child knows how to refuse the evil and choose the good, the land before whose two kings you are in dread will be deserted.” (Isaiah 7:10 – 16)

The Lord longs to assure us, the Divine’s chosen people. But we are often sore afraid to ask of the Lord. We fret, moan and bemoan, weep and shake with fear, rooted to the ground such that we cannot take action. I do not point my finger at you, beloved reader, but speak of myself. At times controlling my fears is beyond my abilities simply because of my health diagnosis. But other times (like the evening I sat down to write this) I get anxious and overwrought when there is no firm basis and foundation for it. It is only afterwards, or if I am able to keep somewhat of a level head during, that I think of turning it over to the Lord. Or asking for a sign.

It is suggested that the infant born to the young woman is Jesus – especially because of the knowing right from wrong part. But it does not make sense an assurance to King Ahaz who was sorely afraid that when Jesus is young that the two kings who he dreads will be dead?! After all, King Ahaz was dead by then too! No, let us take what comfort we can, when we can. What King Ahaz was dreading never did come to pass. And this evening what I was dreading never came to pass either.

But let us take further comfort; from the moment that Jesus was born the plan to give assurance to all people for all time to come was coming into existence. And by the time we are facing our fears etc, Jesus had been born, lived, died, and raised to new life. Why then do we fear? Why then, beloved reader, do I fear? I ask myself that, and have no good answer. But even that quandary and stress is met and assuaged in our Lord Jesus Christ. Take courage, I tell myself, the Lord is with you. May the Lord Jesus Christ be with you also, beloved reader. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

