Week of Leading Up to Christmas: The Old Testament Passage Year A – Quiet night, holy night; now and long ago

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace, who brings good news, who announces salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.” (Isaiah 52:7)

Tonight (or more precisely the night I sat down to write on this passage) I was feeling good. Last week it was the same; the first night I was feeling very out of sorts and anxious. Yesterday was a tough day and the evening did not go smoothly. But tonight things are better. Tonight I can say “how beautiful upon the mountains” because I feel at peace inside.

Now, I am not suggesting we cannot see and feel beauty when we are out of sorts, or that God’s presence in our lives is negate by the stress in our lives. Far from it! Last week on the night I felt out of sorts, the writing on the passage in question helped me immensely. As I knew it would. And last night when I felt like all things were flying out of control, I was able to center myself by writing on God’s word. But tonight . . .

“Listen! Your sentinels lift up their voices, together they sing for joy; for in plain sight they see the return of the LORD to Zion. Break forth together into singing, you ruins of Jerusalem; for the LORD has comforted his people, he has redeemed Jerusalem.” (Verses 8 – 9)

Tonight I can sit back and enjoy the calm that is in my spirit and soul. Tonight I can feel the harmony that is very present in the world, as opposed to the disorder and chaos that is also in the world. Tonight is a “heavenly peace” night, to use a theme of the season. For that night of heavenly peace that came at the birth of our Lord was also the night . . .

“The LORD has bared his holy arm before the eyes of all the nations; and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God. “ (Verse 10)

I do so love it when good plans come together. Goodwill and peace to all! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

