Week of – First Sunday After Christmas / New Year’s Day / Holy Name of Jesus Day; A True Day of Rest

I will recount the gracious deeds of the LORD, the praiseworthy acts of the LORD, because of all that the LORD has done for us, and the great favor to the house of Israel that he has shown them according to his mercy, according to the abundance of his steadfast love.
For he said, “Surely they are my people, children who will not deal falsely”; and he became their savior
in all their distress. It was no messenger or angel but his presence that saved them; in his love and in his pity he redeemed them; he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.”  (Isaiah 63:7-9)

I feel like I am in a transition time tonight. The work week has ended early, a day early than I thought. And I will be having a 4 day weekend and then light duty next week. It feels strange to have so much “down time” coming, and I am having a hard time letting go of work concerns. But work concerns are also concerns for the caregiver who work for me and report to me, and the clients whose care I over see. It feels like a betrayal to them to not go to work for such a stretch of time. Yet I know I need the time off if I am going to do my best work for them.

So as I mulled over all these thoughts I looked through the scripture passages that were available this week, and found the passage from Isaiah 63. It’s not quite a praise passage, or at least not the way I am reading tonight. It seems more of a reflection on the the Lord and what the Lord has done. The Lord looking down on humanity and saying, “These are my people, my chosen beloveds. They love me and I love them. And because of this love I will act for them, in ways that only I the Almighty can.” I would like to think the Lord is looking down on me in that way, seeing me in my concern, care and worry for so many things.

And it occurs to me – if I could only let go of all the concerns and worries I have, pass them over to the Lord, the Divine could deal with it so much better than me. I am made numb with it, but the Lord can act in ways that I could not image or conceive of. So I will try very hard to stand back, lift up to the Lord my cares, and then recount the wondrous ways the Lord has acted and will act. And I am captured by the idea that it is the Lord who does this, the Divine, the God-self and not an emissary or appointee. Neither is it the Lord acting through me, but the Lord directly ministering to those I have concern for. I am not a conduit or a means. That is restful and soothing to me.

May you, beloved reader, feel the Lord directly in your life this season and in the year to come. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

