Sixth Sunday After Epiphany: The Psalm Passage – Scripture as the path to the Lord

Happy are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the LORD.
Happy are those who keep his decrees, who seek him with their whole heart, who also do no wrong, but walk in his ways.
You have commanded your precepts to be kept diligently.
O that my ways may be steadfast in keeping your statutes!
Then I shall not be put to shame, having my eyes fixed on all your commandments.
I will praise you with an upright heart, when I learn your righteous ordinances.
I will observe your statutes; do not utterly forsake me.” (Psalm 119:1-8)

I have started, or re-started, a habit and practice. At night when I am tired and feeling low, I read some of the psalms. I just “happened” (because I do not believe those things are really random in the life of the Spirit) Psalm 71 and it comforted me greatly. The next night I read further on in the psalms and found comfort there too. I had not gotten to Psalm 119 but I would look for it on those nights when I need comfort and support.

Many years ago I used to read the psalms as a spiritual discipline and practice, but these days it is more of a spiritual support than a rigid discipline and practice. I think actually that is quite natural and normal. We talk about spiritual “discipline” and “practice” as if it were exercises to keep us from getting “flabby”. There is much truth to that, but it is not to be a rigid regime as if we were to do 50 sit ups before bed. At day’s end it is more like a comforting bedtime story and being tucked in. In the morning, before the day begins it is a morning coffee and/or breakfast to help us get started in the day. My point is we should come to scripture reading as a reprieve and a delight, not a onerous task. The Lord does not come to us as if it were a terrible chore. The Lord comes to us with delight and love, and we are received that way. May you, beloved reader, approach scripture reading as way to approach the Divine, with love and delight. And the Divine will rejoice at your companionship. Selah!


About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

