Seventh Sunday After Epiphany: The Psalms Passage – Praying the psalms

Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes, and I will observe it to the end.
Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart.
Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it.
Turn my heart to your decrees, and not to selfish gain.
Turn my eyes from looking at vanities; give me life in your ways.
Confirm to your servant your promise, which is for those who fear you.
Turn away the disgrace that I dread, for your ordinances are good.
See, I have longed for your precepts; in your righteousness give me life.”

(Psalm 119:33-40)

Dearest Lord God,

I desire above all things to understand what you want me to do in my life. So often I am not sure what to do, or where to go, or how to decide what should be done. I founder and struggle with issues large and small, and feel so helpless when I am stymied in wise living according to your wisdom. In short, I feel foolish and lost.

Help me O Lord to find my way. Give me understanding and the wisdom that is informed by Holy Wisdom. Remind me of your commandments and how they apply to my life. Remind me to live as you would have me life and not according to my own human will or the agenda of this fallen world.

And forgive me when I go astray. Forgive all of humanity as we stray away from the commandments, precepts and decrees that come from the Divine. Guide us back with gentleness, kindness, compassion, mercy and forgiveness. And prompt us to deal gently with others, as we would wish to be dealt with. For we are all children under One God, each one of us striving to live a life that is righteous and honorable in your sight.

We pray these things according to what we have learned from the Spirit, and in hopes that we may continue to learn how to life in the light of your Word. Amen! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

