Second Sunday of Lent: The Psalm Passage – Keeping my eyes, and hopes, lifted up

I lift up my eyes to the hills– from where will my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.” (Psalms 121: 1 – 4)

My life has seen a lot of changes over the past few weeks. The changes have not been easy to take or manage. At times I felt like I was being stretched and tested. It was only after emerging from each interlude of being stretched and tested that I could see and realize always I was safe in God’s hands. It is a human reality, I believe, that we cannot always see that when we are in the midst of trials. It is at those times we simply have to have faith that God is with us.

“The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time on and forevermore.” (Verses 5 – 8)

I did not lose hope or faith; I just could not see how it would all work out. I could not find my way through what I saw was before me. All I could do was to hold on, and trust that a way would be made. And it was. And based on that experience, I will hold to the same hope and faith was events move forward. It is a little exciting and more than a little scary to not know how the events in the future will unfold and resolve themselves. All I can do is keep lifting my eyes up to the place where I know my help and strength will come. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

