Second Sunday of Easter: The Gospel Passage – After-Resurrection Joy

When it was evening on that day, the first day of the week, and the doors of the house where the disciples had met were locked for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” After he said this, he showed them his hands and his side. Then the disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord.” (John 20:19-20)

They rejoiced. After believing their teacher dead and buried, they “simply” rejoiced?! I suspect that the writer of the gospel of John is understating it just a bit. You think the glee of a child finding their Easter basket is “rejoicing”? That is nothing, I suspect, compared to the rejoicing that the disciples did.

“Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.” (Verse 21)

I imagine also that Jesus was emotional too. These were men (and women) who had shared life together for at least 3 years, good times and bad.

“When he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.” But Thomas (who was called the Twin), one of the twelve, was not with them when Jesus came.” (Verses 22 – 24)

It was a shame that Thomas missed out on seeing the Lord when the other disciples were there. I have to wonder if his insisting on not believing was partly disappointment for having missed it.

“So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands, and put my finger in the mark of the nails and my hand in his side, I will not believe.” A week later his disciples were again in the house, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were shut, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe.” Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” (Verses 25 – 28)

But Thomas did not miss out on seeing his believed Messiah. Jesus appeared again and gave Thomas ample opportunity to confirm that it was indeed the Risen Lord. Even to this day, our Lord God gives us ample opportunity to confirm and encounter/experience with the Lord, if we will but believe in it!

“Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.” Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples, which are not written in this book. But these are written so that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that through believing you may have life in his name.” (Verses 29 – 31)

Now I must tell you something, beloved reader. I have never with my own human eyes seen Jesus, nor our Lord God. But I do not need to see with human eyes in order to believe with human heart. I am not boasting or bragging, just stating simple fact. But I have seen evidence, and am convinced I will continue to see evidence that will affirm and confirm my faith. It is my hope and prayer that you are able to say the same thing. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

