Day of Pentecost: The Psalm Passage – Getting instructions and directions

O LORD, how manifold are your works! In wisdom you have made them all; the earth is full of your creatures.
Yonder is the sea, great and wide, creeping things innumerable are there, living things both small and great.
There go the ships, and Leviathan that you formed to sport in it.
These all look to you to give them their food in due season; when you give to them, they gather it up; when you open your hand, they are filled with good things.” (Psalms 104: 24 – 28)

Some years back I wrote a reflection on Jonah and the whale – specifically when Jonah was spit up on the sand and the Lord asked him again to go to Nineveh. I remembered it so strongly that I went back and re-wrote it again, specific to my current situation. Look for it on my other blog, Pondering from the Pacific . The leviathan part always reminds me of whales. And that reminds me of Jonah, and Jonah reminds me of . . .

“When you hide your face, they are dismayed; when you take away their breath, they die and return to their dust. When you send forth your spirit, they are created; and you renew the face of the ground.” (Verses 29 – 30)

But I am guessing that the Revised Common Lectionary is focused on the “send forth your spirit” part as it pertains to Pentecost. And yes, that was a great time of celebration. But in order to get to the coming of the Spirit part, the disciples/apostles needed to get through the Jesus dying part and then Jesus departing part. Those were hard times, I am sure. I am equally sure that getting to the other side of those experiences made the coming of the Spirit even sweeter. Then they knew what they should be doing, and how to do it. And were empowered and equipped for their calling. My hope and prayer, beloved reader, is that we might all be so prepared and quipped. Selah!

“May the glory of the LORD endure forever; may the LORD rejoice in his works — who looks on the earth and it trembles, who touches the mountains and they smoke.
I will sing to the LORD as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have being.
May my meditation be pleasing to him, for I rejoice in the LORD.
Bless the LORD, O my soul. Praise the LORD! “ (Verses 30 – 34, 35b)


About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

