Season after Pentecost (Proper 10 [15]) : The Psalm Passage – Summing up the theme for this week, and holy scripture in general

I am having a little bit of a challenge trying to figure out what Psalm passage to us. Normally I would use the one that is linked to the Old Testament passage that I used, but I sort of made use of both. (See Tuesday of this week.) I used the Isaiah passage most overtly, and that selection is tied to Psalm 65: 1 – 13. Psalm 119: 105 – 112 is the passage tied to the passage from Genesis that told the story of Jacob and Esau, or at least the story of how Esau put aside his birthright.

“Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion; and to you shall vows be performed, O you who answer prayer! To you all flesh shall come.” (Psalm 65:1 – 2)

You can read/see how this psalm passage relates to the might of the Lord displayed in Isaiah 55.

“When deeds of iniquity overwhelm us, you forgive our transgressions.” (Verse 2)

Yet, you could also make a case for it relating to Jacob’s and Esau’s story, where Jacob tricked Esau into forfeiting his birthright for food. And then later on in the story (beyond the cited passage) where Jacob deprives Esau of the blessing from their father.

“Happy are those whom you choose and bring near to live in your courts. We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, your holy temple.” (Verse 4)

However, as the passage goes on, the tie to the Isaiah passage does make more sense.

“By awesome deeds you answer us with deliverance, O God of our salvation; you are the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas. By your strength you established the mountains; you are girded with might. You silence the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, the tumult of the peoples.” (Verses 5 – 7)

The psalms passage – being about the Lord God, passing the Lord God, and praying to the Lord God – are however appropriate for every occasion and event. Verse 7 seems especially appropriate, as the Lord God calms all things.

“Those who live at earth’s farthest bounds are awed by your signs; you make the gateways of the morning and the evening shout for joy. You visit the earth and water it, you greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water; you provide the people with grain, for so you have prepared it. You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers, and blessing its growth.” (Verses 8 – 10)

Can you hear the echo of the Isaiah passage, beloved reader?

“You crown the year with your bounty; your wagon tracks overflow with richness. The pastures of the wilderness overflow, the hills gird themselves with joy, the meadows clothe themselves with flocks, the valleys deck themselves with grain, they shout and sing together for joy.” (Verses 11 – 13)

In the Revised Common Lectionary the Psalm passage is often a refrain of praise to God, or a petition whose theme often aligns with the other passages for that week. So it is not surprise when the themes between the passages echo each other. And as we read this week, the themes within each week – that is when there are alternate passages in each of the four types of passage (Old Testament, Psalms, Epistle, and Gospel) – also align. Of course, being that everything is from biblical scripture that has as it inspiration the Lord God and the story of the called people of God, there is always a broad common theme.

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
I have sworn an oath and confirmed it, to observe your righteous ordinances.
I am severely afflicted; give me life, O LORD, according to your word.
Accept my offerings of praise, O LORD, and teach me your ordinances.
I hold my life in my hand continually, but I do not forget your law.
The wicked have laid a snare for me, but I do not stray from your precepts.
Your decrees are my heritage forever; they are the joy of my heart. (Psalm 119:105-112)
I incline my heart to perform your statutes forever, to the end.”

Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

