Season after Pentecost (Proper 11 [16]): The Psalm Passage – Far away, and close to home . . . the Lord is there

O LORD, you have searched me and known me.” (Psalm 139:1)

As you may have figure out, beloved reader, this Psalm passage is meant to match up with the other scripture readings this week, and by consequence, match the Old Testament passage concerning Jacob. But I think every person in the Old Testament who had been called by God could say that they have they have been searched and known.

“You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away.
You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue, O LORD, you know it completely.” (Verses 2 – 4)

And not just Old Testament figures, but New Testament and Epistle writers also. They were known and inspired by God and Jesus Christ. In fact Jesus himself was inspired by God – that is, the aspect that was Jesus was fueled by the aspect that is the Lord. Triune theology can get complicated and wordy at times.

“You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is so high that I cannot attain it.” (Verses 5 – 6)

We too, beloved reader, are known by the Divine. Known and thoroughly known. All that was, is, will be is known by the Divine. Just sit with that for a moment. While we do not know the future, or can only make guesses from our human knowledge and abilities, the Divine knows what the future holds for all of us. Good, bad, and in-between. Why, we ask, does the Lord God not prevent the bad? Why does the Lord God not make only the good things? It is because humanity does not exist in a vacuum. What one person does intersects with what another person does. If every single person on the planet lived every single second of their life in perfect harmony with the guidance of the Lord, it would all be “good.” But humanity has been given free will and choice. One poor or unwise choice collides with another, and before too long the shalom that the Divine wills has been upset. The only good thing that can be relied on is that we are not alone in the world.

“Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.
If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast.
If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light around me become night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is as bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you.” (Verses 7 – 12)

Abraham traveled far from his home and family to establish a new way of life. The Lord was there. Isaac established a place for himself and his family. The Lord was there. Jacob returned to his grandfather’s ancestral home, and the Lord was there to work out the events that would establish Jacob. Joseph was taken to Egypt, and the Lord was there. The Hebrews were in Egypt for many generations, and the Lord was with them. Then Moses lead the Hebrews out of Egypt, and the Lord traveled with them to the land that would be theirs. The Lord God follows those that set out in the Divine’s name. And is there at each one of their destinations.

The psalmist speaks for all of us when he wrote these words. Let these words be your request also . . . .

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts. See if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” (Verses 23 – 24)

Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

