Everything Under One Roof

I do not mean this to be a long post or an involved post. It is simply to let you know that I have successfully exported, then imported, all of the posts from 2015 onward. It means that all the posts I wrote as comments and reflections on the Revised Common Lectionary are now on “Pondering From the Pacific.” It is the next logical step in moving operations from one site to the next. And it was step I was not sure was going to work out! It took a couple of tries to get the mechanics involved to work correctly. Once I figured out the correct steps, it did not take much time. I thought I would be laboring for hours to get it done correctly.

I do not say this to tout my own horn, but to compliment and acknowledge that WordPress is a good place to set a blog. I have been grateful over the years that they have made maintaining a blog and easy one. And to you too, beloved and gentle readers for following the blogs as you have.

This next step in the transition means that it becomes more official that posting that was done on “A Simple Desire” [https://asimpledesire.wordpress.com/] will be moving over and posted only on this website, “Pondering From the Pacific” [https://ponderingfromthepacific.wordpress.com/]

The next step, beloved and gentle reader, is for you to switch where you read the posts. And that is actually the part and portion I am most worried about. If you are reading this on “Pondering From the Pacific” I am hopeful you have signed up to follow posts placed here. If you are reading this on “A Simple Desire”, I am hoping that you will switch over. My original plan called for only posting  on “PFtP” (to give it an acronym) at the beginning of 2018. With the ease of each step, that might happen at the beginning of Advent. To reassure all, the posts currently on “ASD” (another acronym) will still be there as long as WordPress allows the site to exist with no new content. It was my “simple desire” to have the overlap of posts only be those related to the Revised Common Lectionary, from 2015 onward.

I am reminded I promised this to be a short post. I have talked previously about my decision. I hope, beloved and gentle reader, you will join me at “Pondering From the Pacific” as we continue to make our way through the lectionary year. Shalom!

Season after Pentecost (Proper 14 [19]): The Psalm Passage – Preacher and Seeker recite praises to the Lord concerning Joseph

Preacher: “O give thanks to the LORD, call on his name, make known his deeds among the peoples.”
Seeker: Praise the Lord, for our God has been mighty amongst us and has shown mercy, grace and justice to the people.
Preacher: “Sing to him, sing praises to him; tell of all his wonderful works.”

Seeker: I will praise the Lord’s name and tell of the wonders that have been done on my behalf!
Preacher: “Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice.”

Seeker: I cried out to the Lord, my Lord God, and I was answered. I searched for assurance and my soul was calmed. My heart and soul felt heavy, and my spirit was in a dark place. But the Lord brought light, and my gloom vanished. Now I rejoice for I dwell within the Lord’s favor and love.
Preacher: “Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually.”

Seeker: I sought the Lord when I was weak, my strength nearly gone. My knees were weak and shook beneath me. My arms were tired, and eyes closed in fatigue. The Lord gave me rest, and revived me. Now I sing the Lord’s praises and my body is filled with the strength of the Lord.
Preacher: “Remember the wonderful works he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he uttered,
O offspring of his servant Abraham, children of Jacob, his chosen ones.”

Seeker: I have read stories of the Lord’s mercy and favor. It is good news to my ears that Lord does not abandon the Divine’s children that have been called out.
Preacher: “When he summoned famine against the land, and broke every staff of bread, he had sent a man ahead of them, Joseph, who was sold as a slave.”

Seeker: Joseph was taken from his family had settled, and traveled to a distant land. But the Lord was with him.
Preacher: “His feet were hurt with fetters, his neck was put in a collar of iron; until what he had said came to pass, the word of the LORD kept testing him.”

Seeker: Joseph was sorely tested, refined in the fires of tribulation. But his spirit shone bright because the Lord was with him.
Preacher: “The king sent and released him; the ruler of the peoples set him free.”

Seeker: Joseph worked under the king’s supervision, but he served the Lord first.
Preacher: “He made him lord of his house, and ruler of all his possessions, to instruct his officials at his pleasure, and to teach his elders wisdom.”

Seeker: Joseph accomplished many things, and received great honor. He extended a compassionate hand to his family, and the people who lived in the land of famine received relief. Joseph honored to the Name of the Lord, and the Lord was faithful in the promises given to Joseph’s family.
Preacher: “Praise the LORD!“

(Psalm 105: 1-6, 16-22, 45b)