First Sunday After Christmas, Yr A, 2022 – Gospel Passage: Not all holly jolly

[Sunday January 1st is an auspice day this Lectionary year. It is, of course, the first day of the new year. It is the first Sunday after Christmas, and it is the Holy Name of Jesus day. There are a potential 12 scripture passages that could be used amongst the four days that I write and post. Not wanting to overwhelm you, beloved reader, I am going to pick and choose the best four out of the bunch, And I will explain my choices.]

Now after they [the wise men] had left, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream and said, “Get up, take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt, and remain there until I tell you; for Herod is about to search for the child, to destroy him.” Then Joseph got up, took the child and his mother by night, and went to Egypt, and remained there until the death of Herod. This was to fulfill what had been spoken by the Lord through the prophet, “Out of Egypt I have called my son.” (Matthew 2:13 – 15)

The gospel writer Matthew adds to the nativity story a narrative about what happened after the wise men left. I personally like the story of the wise men coming and am glad to use even a passing reference concerning them. The wise men are/were a part of all the nativity sets that I have had in my life. When I was young, I set up the nativity scene in my parents’ home, and I would set the wise men at some distance from the rest of the set. And then as the days to Christmas wound down, I would move the three wise men and their camels closer and closer. But I digress.

When Herod saw that he had been tricked by the wise men, he was infuriated, and he sent and killed all the children in and around Bethlehem who were two years old or under, according to the time that he had learned from the wise men.” (Verse 16)

But, again as a child, I did not like what happened after Jesus and his parents left. And as I grew to adulthood and through parenthood – I came to hate what happened. It was actually all the male children – inclusiveness renders it as children. But the assumption was that it was a male child. That does not lessen the tragedy and horror. Families still plunged into their worst nightmare. Compare that though with other religious persecutions. There too families destroyed. Throughout history faith beliefs are deemed dangerous and must be stamped out regardless of the cost.

“Then was fulfilled what had been spoken through the prophet Jeremiah: “A voice was heard in Ramah, wailing and loud lamentation, Rachel weeping for her children; she refused to be consoled, because they are no more.” (Verses 17 – 18)

As a child I could not fathom the stark contrast between the birth of Jesus and the death of young innocents. As an adult I understand that tragedy knows season, and does not abate just because the mood of the season might be ruined. As an adult I also understand that a person or a group of people’s responses to an event or situation etc cannot be held against the event or situation. That evil people will persist to be just that. And to gloss over the unpleasant to horrifying robs sorrow and trauma of its right to be moaned. We must take all that comes in life; and find comfort and joy where we see it, while comforting those who moan.

“When Herod died, an angel of the Lord suddenly appeared in a dream to Joseph in Egypt and said, “Get up, take the child and his mother, and go to the land of Israel, for those who were seeking the child’s life are dead.” Then Joseph got up, took the child and his mother, and went to the land of Israel. But when he heard that Archelaus was ruling over Judea in place of his father Herod, he was afraid to go there. And after being warned in a dream, he went away to the district of Galilee. There he made his home in a town called Nazareth, so that what had been spoken through the prophets might be fulfilled, “He will be called a Nazorean.” (Verses 19 – 23)

It does seem, beloved reader, that the time after Christmas resorts to former conditions. This has the potential to be a sad truth. However, if the lessons of Advent – the waiting, preparation, and anticipation – are carried into the new year we might lessen or avert the sorrow in our lives and improve our condition. Note that at each step the Divine was working with Joseph to protect his family. More specifically, Joseph kept himself open to the leading of the Divine. I have found it true in my life that keeping myself attuned to the Divine and seeking out the Counsel of the Divine help . . . tremendously. As we move further from the Christmas event, may you beloved reader remember the Sender of the baby Jesus and move ever closer to the Holy Presence. Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.