Season of Advent, Year B, 2023 – Psalm Passage, Fourth Sunday: The Divine finding “favor” in us

Preacher: “I will sing of your steadfast love, O LORD, forever; with my mouth I will proclaim your faithfulness to all generations.” I have been thinking about King David lately – again. Thinking about his confidence in his God. Not his faith, but his confidence that his God would work out his life in pleasant ways. And then to write that his God has done just that, and will continue to that – working out his life in pleasant ways.

Seeker: “I declare that your steadfast love is established forever; your faithfulness is as firm as the heavens.”

Preacher: “You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one, I have sworn to my servant David: ‘I will establish your descendants forever, and build your throne for all generations.’” Selah “
I sometimes wish I had that confidence. A few days ago I had an unexpected, unpleasant event happen. I do not distinctly remember praying about it. I do remember that I determined what action I needed to take, and that things worked out in a “pleasant way.” Was my confidence a result of having been steeped in the Holy Presence for decades? I have wondered ever since. I have tried to remind myself to pray when misfortune comes my way, and after the fact when I am roiling in the distasteful aftermath wondered why I did not pray. This time, I just worked through it. Knew that it would resolve itself and that I can handle whatever might come. I never consciously thought “the Divine has my back.” In looking back, I knew the Divine did.

Seeker: “Then you spoke in a vision to your faithful one, and said: “I have set the crown on one who is mighty, I have exalted one chosen from the people.” Some might say that this verse actually speaks of the Messiah. But like you, Preacher, I think David is talking about himself; and yes, with great confidence. I think, Preacher, in that situation you showed great confidence because you knew the Divine was with you. You may not have a crown or see yourself as “mighty”; but I think the Divine has taken a liking to you!

Preacher: “I have found my servant David; with my holy oil I have anointed him; my hand shall always remain with him; my arm also shall strengthen him.”
David wrote this about himself. Knew how that his God Yahweh looked upon him and considered him. David strived for God’s heart; yearned after it, and tried as much as he could to be faithful to his God. And if he did this he knew . . . .

Seeker: “The enemy shall not outwit him, the wicked shall not humble him. I will crush his foes before him and strike down those who hate him.”

Preacher: “My faithfulness and steadfast love shall be with him; and in my name his horn shall be exalted.”
This is the Messiah we look to and look forward to during Advent. Whose birth and coming at Christmas we celebrate. And we look forward to the grown man he will be. And the blessing that will come from this Messiah. We claim the Messiah for our Redeemer and Savior; and along with Paul’s exhortations, worship him. But do we have the confidence that King David had? Is our faith THAT strong?

Seeker: “I will set his hand on the sea and his right hand on the rivers.”
We need to be clear that this is what King David felt and believed Yahweh thought of him. One cannot make a divide between “I found my servant David” and what David felt the Divine was promising him.

Preacher: “He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation!’ “ (Psalm 89:1-4, 19-26)
Humanity needs to shout this to the Divine. To look and see this coming Lord God as Protector and Redeemer. We need to have confidence that the Divine can do this; and the confidence to testify to it; and the confidence that we will receive it. And then live out that confidence! Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.