Fourth Sunday After Epiphany, Year B 2023: Psalm Passage – Concerning the initiation of relief, rescue, and restoration; Preacher and Seeker muse on it

Preacher: “Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart, in the company of the upright, in the congregation.” For this day, at this reading, my feelings are more of relief from being rescued than joy. Joy, the bubbly giggly, feeling is far from me. But relief at respite, if only for the moment, is what is feeling my soul. I and mine have been favorably delivered; and that where my rejoicing is.

Seeker: “Great are the works of the LORD, studied by all who delight in them.”
I have heard of your rescue from a trying situation, and relief that the Divine has under taken for you. And I rejoice with you.

Preacher: “Full of honor and majesty is his work, and his righteousness endures forever.”
Really feel, with this situation behind me, much of the Work of the Divine is rescue; and some restoration. Restoration because of the Divine’s Righteousness. Not everything can be resolved peacefully; but when it can and has, that is a cause for praise and celebration.

Seeker: “He has gained renown by his wonderful deeds; the LORD is gracious and merciful. He provides food for those who fear him; he is ever mindful of his covenant. He has shown his people the power of his works, in giving them the heritage of the nations.”

Preacher: “The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy. They are established forever and ever, to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness.”
What comes first, I wonder? The Lord God’s deliverance? Or the precepts of the Lord God being followed and obeyed? When we pray for help and deliverance, must we have already demonstrated our faithfulness and obedience – our righteousness?

Seeker: “He sent redemption to his people; he has commanded his covenant forever. Holy and awesome is his name.”
I think, Preacher, a devote and sincere prayer will be answered – in advance of demonstration of conforming to the faith life. Because, a prayer that is prayed after the “Heart of the Lord” (to use a King David trait) is in that instance an aligning one’s self with the Divine. But I think you know that, Preacher. It is a good question to sit with, if sitting with it is needed.

Preacher:
Ah, Seeker, you know me well. Setting the mind of faith and obedience to ponder is a trait of mind. And yes, I agree, the actions of the Divine are just a whisper and movement away even when the newly faithful, just this second faithful, send out a plea. “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever. “ ( Psalm 111) Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.