Sundays After Pentecost, Year A, 2023 – Old Testament Passage: Divine Friendships

Moses said to the LORD, “See, you have said to me, ‘Bring up this people’; but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. Yet you have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found favor in my sight.’ Now if I have found favor in your sight, show me your ways, so that I may know you and find favor in your sight. Consider too that this nation is your people.” (Exodus 33:12 – 13)

I like this, a forthright conversation with Moses’ Lord. Honest conversations happen between people (between Deities and followers) who know each other well. A point for the Ten Commandments that “thou shalt not worship any graven images”; how will a carved piece of stone (or any other idol, concept, or agenda) know us as well as the Living God? If you “god” is not omnipresent and divine, how will it move with you when you move around? But I digress.

Moses is laying it all out there. The pain in his heart, the frustration in his psyche, and the ache in his soul “carrying” these people for this time and distance. It seems to me a conversation that any preacher, religious leader, or spiritual director might have with the Divine. How am I to do this apart from the Divine? Well, you can’t. Moses knows this, that is why he is pleading and craving the Presence of the Divine. And it is not just people in leadership; anyone who has embarked on a spiritual and faith will need to Presence of the Divine.

“He [
Yahweh] said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” And he [Moses] said to him [Yahweh], “If your presence will not go, do not carry us up from here. For how shall it be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people, unless you go with us? In this way, we shall be distinct, I and your people, from every people on the face of the earth.” (Verses 14 – 16)

When two people (or Deities and followers) are deep in private conversation there is no need to identify who is saying what. You can tell from what is said who is Who. But as we read this passage it is good to know Who is saying What. Also note, beloved reader, that Moses saw the people as distinctive and belonging to Yahweh. Even if the Hebrews were not YET the people of God, the intent was for them to become that. The question of who others will know who are sincere followers of the Divine has been a question asked countless times. We still ask it, asking what are the signs of followers of God. Because, beloved reader, the traits keep changing. It is a shame that the consistency of the family of God changes; sometimes we evolve becoming more like the Divine. And sometimes we devolve becoming more like those whose hearts and spirits are not tattooed with the Image of the Divine.

“The LORD said to Moses, “I will do the very thing that you have asked; for you have found favor in my sight, and I know you by name.” Moses said, “Show me your glory, I pray.” And he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you, and will proclaim before you the name, ‘The LORD’; and I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy.” (Verses 17 – 19)

A bold pray – show me Your Glory. Friends to that – show me yourself, tell me about you, share with me. You must not think this odd, beloved reader. Jesus the Messiah came to earth to make friends. Friends at a distance was not working for the generation of people who came after the people Moses was leading. Over time the Divine (Yahweh then) sent prophets to teach and instruct the people. Prophets less like Moses, who glowed, and more like the people in your neighborhood or your part of the city. What was needed, when the ancient called and chosen people were ready, was a face to face experience. But not even Moses was ready for that.

“But,” he said, “you cannot see my face; for no one shall see me and live.” And the LORD continued, “See, there is a place by me where you shall stand on the rock; and while my glory passes by I will put you in a cleft of the rock, and I will cover you with my hand until I have passed by; then I will take away my hand, and you shall see my back; but my face shall not be seen.” (Verses 20 – 23)

No one living has actually seen the Face of the Divine. Well, does the Divine have a face? The followers of Jesus saw him. But it was said He did not look any different than anyone else at that time. But we can see evidence of the Divine. As I Moses found out, we can feel the Divine. Oh! You don’t think Moses felt the Hand of the Divine upon him?!

Beloved reader, we have the opportunity to be in relationship and fellowship with the Divine. Which is all to say that we can have a friendship with the Lord God – a long and lasting friendship. Eternal friendship even! And all you have to do is ask! Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.