Third Sunday After Easter, Year B 2023 – 24: Psalm Passage – Leaning in on the relationship with the Divine: Preacher & Seeker take up the psalmist’s plea

Preacher: “Answer me when I call, O God of my right! You gave me room when I was in distress. Be gracious to me, and hear my prayer.” I am not sure if this is a plea or a demand from the psalmist. I am hoping, for the psalmist’s sake it is a plea, considering he is asking for graciousness from the Divine.

Seeker:
I hear and understand your concern and worry for the psalmist, Preacher. I can tell you from experience that a plea raised up to the heavens in distress and anxiety can sound like a demand because the human spirit feels there is so much at stake. “How long, you people, shall my honor suffer shame? How long will you love vain words, and seek after lies? Selah” And when it feels like support from the Divine is slow in coming, one can also lose patience with those around you, imaging slights and condemnation from those who you thought were trustworthy.

Preacher:
I know times were tough for you, Seeker, before you came into your faith. And even since then your journey has not always been smooth. It is good to you remind yourself what the psalmist also had to say. “But know that the LORD has set apart the faithful for himself; the LORD hears when I call to him.

Seeker: “When you are disturbed, do not sin; ponder it on your beds, and be silent. Selah”
Yes, Preacher. My times have not always been easy. And when the times are not easy, the Divine and I have intense conversations during the evening hours. I talk, and then the Holy Presence talks. Sometimes it is just the Holy Presence talking to me – to me, and my soul & spirit. As Paul said, groans too deep for words.

Preacher: “Offer right sacrifices, and put your trust in the LORD.”
The “right” sacrifices are of course our human spirit and will; transformed by the Power of the Divine, we seek the Path that Jesus set before us. Not a guarantee of easy times, but times that we are never alone again.

Seeker:
That is very true, Preacher. I once thought accepting the Lord God into my life and my heart would ease my life. But my life carried on as it was; the change was that I was able to cope better, and have learned to cope and life with my hope and confidence. “There are many who say, “O that we might see some good! Let the light of your face shine on us, O LORD!” Hard times are hard times. It is the consistent and increasing Strength of the Divine and Holy Presence that has carried me along.

Preacher:
Yes, the psalmist says that there are those who think a life of ease comes with faith. It is not always true. King David’s life is a portrayal of that – hardship comes, then life eases, only to have hardship come again. But he saw his God Yahweh was always there. “You have put gladness in my heart more than when their grain and wine abound.”

Seeker: “I will both lie down and sleep in peace; for you alone, O LORD, make me lie down in safety.” (Psalm 4)
Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.