Fourth Sunday After Easter, Year B 2023 – 24: Gospel Passage – Exercising love & compassion

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” (John 10:11)

From what I have learned and understood of Jewish society at that time, shepherds were not held in high esteem. The stayed long days and weeks with the sheep, and did not have opportunities to bath. Probably less often then the sheep were bathed. But shepherds were devoted to their sheep. The sheep were livelihood, their way of earning the means to support themselves and their families – if they had one.

Over time the role and title of shepherd came to mean being a “shepherd” of people; and that came from Jesus using the metaphor and analogy of shepherding meaning take care of – up to and including death. If, beloved reader, you are invested with people & take care of them and their needs, you may well do things that put yourself in peril. On the afternoon I wrote this, I was a little sleep deprived because I was up early to support someone for an appt they had several hours away. I got up early to go with them, and ensure their welling-being. And this was a day after I spent 6 hours on behalf of someone else and their needs.

“The hired hand, who is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep, sees the wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away–and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. The hired hand runs away because a hired hand does not care for the sheep.” (Verses 12 – 13)

And then on Monday I will be rising early again, because someone else needs support in completing healthy practices and procedures. And on it goes; going with, advocating for, and paying attention to their needs.

“I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father. And I lay down my life for the sheep.” (Verses 14 – 15)

It would be easy to say, “I am too tired to write this evening. Too weary to put thought and keyboard to this passage.” Actually, it would not. Remember when I said I was hard pressed to be still and silent during Holy Week, and focus only on the now, and not on the week to come. I do not know if that qualifies me to be a “shepherd.”

“I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd.” (Verse 16)

This is not the first time, nor the first job I had where I was a caregiver and support to others. I suspect it is in my make-up, my personality, to offer support and nurture. I have never been asked to lay down my life for those I support; not sure what I would do if it came to that.

I do not hold myself out as someone remarkable. Someone who goes beyond human physical ability. But I know Someone Who does, and that is Who I try to align my life with.

“For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it up again. I have received this command from my Father.” (Verses 17 – 18)

We, beloved reader, have the power to lay down our lives; to put all we are and can do on the line. Once done, we cannot pick it up again. But like I said, I know Someone Who can. Are we commanded to do so, lay down our lives? I will leave that question to you, beloved reader. Talk to Someone about it. Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.