Fourth Sunday After Easter, Year B 2023 – 24: Psalm Passage – Exercising faith & belief: Preacher & Seeker look at Psalm 32 again

Preacher: “The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want.” I am reminded, and it is no coincidence knowing the RCL, of the gospel passage for this week – that Jesus said He was a good shepherd, the Good Shepherd, laying down His life. And was able through the Divine to pick His life back up again. That He could pick it back up does not lessen the sacrifice and suffering He went through.

Seeker:
And that sacrifice brings us peace, and assurance everlasting. “He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters; . . .”

Preacher:
But it is the next phrase that has captured my attention this day – “he restores my soul.” Lately my soul has needed restoring, and reassurance. My mantra has been “leave it to the Lord” and I repeat that often. I just need to hold on and remember “He leads me in right paths for his name’s sake.”

Seeker: “Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me; your rod and your staff– they comfort me.”
I do not think the psalmist knew how this short psalm would galvanize so many generations of believers. It must have been very personal to him; and it has become very personal to so many others.

Preacher: “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”
I know that the Lord under girding me, because the Divine has been there for me so many times in my life. I have seen the grace, mercy, and blessing of the Lord long enough to know that even in this time, I am not alone. And the Divine is working on my behalf. I just cannot see the outcome yet, but I have faith. And belief that the Lord God is by my side in all things and in all places.

Seeker: “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD my whole life long.” (Psalm 23)
I will pray, Preacher, for your strength of faith & belief. And will lift you up to the Divine; not because the Divine has not undertaken and complete this episode. But because it is good for my faith as will to bring myself and the concerns of others before the Lord God & the Mercy Seat. Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.