Fifth Sunday After Easter, Year B 2023 – 24: Gospel Passage – A metaphor of growing in love, and the consequences of withering away

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinegrower. He removes every branch in me that bears no fruit. Every branch that bears fruit he prunes to make it bear more fruit.” (John 15:1 – 2)

I am taken by the image that we, the branches, are in the Messiah. That we, as branches, gain us sustenance from the Messiah & Savior and in return are to produce fruit. Not works, beloved reader, but (I believe) fruit as in Fruit of the Spirit. As the Epistle passage said, love (as a noun & verb) and all that comes from love. The branches that are removed, I do not think are people, souls, or spirits/psyches – but attributes and traits that do not belong to the Law of Love & Compassion as set down by Jesus & endorsed by the Divine.

You have already been cleansed by the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me as I abide in you. Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit, because apart from me you can do nothing.” (Verses 3 – 5)

There is a harshness in the writer of the gospel of John’s theology that I cannot ascribe to. If indeed each member of humanity is a branch, and there are branches who bear no fruit (of the Spirit) through word or action – it seems to me too harsh that the Divine removes it as if tossing away unusable items. However, if a soul has withered and died, I can see it being a joint action of that soul falling away and the Divine removing it.

“Whoever does not abide in me is thrown away like a branch and withers; such branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned.” (Verse 6)

Does the Divine really give up on souls/branches? Maybe it is incentive to be fruitful in the Lord God. Maybe there is purpose for those who are tossed away, even after they have not produced Godly fruit. I hope so!

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask for whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.” (Verses 7 – 8)

I think, beloved reader, my calling as a spiritual director fills me with concern for those whose belief & faith is shaky, and those who are withering in belief and hope. And it is my hope that you are growing stronger every day in faith and fruitful belief & spirit. Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.