Sundays After Pentecost, Year B 2023 – 24: Old Testament Passage – Imaging the Divine

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lofty; and the hem of his robe filled the temple.” (Isaiah 6:1)

When I first read this passage, again, I was caught by the phrase and image that the Hem of the Divine’s Robe filled the Temple. I could see it in my mind’s eye, but could not find a picture that did my internal image justice. If I had time, cloth, and a good camera – I could create it. But trying to find an existing image was almost impossible! Even searching for “robe filled the Temple” gave only vague images of sedate robes! I am sure the prophet Isaiah/the writer of the book of Isaiah was completely overwhelmed by the image.

“Seraphs were in attendance above him; each had six wings: with two they covered their faces, and with two they covered their feet, and with two they flew. And one called to another and said: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory.” The pivots on the thresholds shook at the voices of those who called, and the house filled with smoke.” (Verses 2 – 4)

It is such a visual passage! Brilliant colors, glowing lights, and a warmth that defies the human eye!

And I said: “Woe is me! I am lost, for I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips; yet my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!” Then one of the seraphs flew to me, holding a live coal that had been taken from the altar with a pair of tongs. The seraph touched my mouth with it and said: “Now that this has touched your lips, your guilt has departed and your sin is blotted out.” (Versus 5 – 7)

There is a difference between imaging, that is imagining & wondering what the Divine looks like, and actually seeing the Divine as we would see someone of our acquaintance. The Robe of the Divine laid out before one, the seraphs flying about and praising the Divine, and the incense/smoke from the altars that filled the air with fragrance and mist – that would be a scene that would stop just about anyone short, and perhaps render them speechless. But the prophet Isaiah was made of sterner stuff; or this scene started in him a burning desire to place himself in service.

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I; send me!” (Verse 8)

I think for myself . . . . . I am not sure I would have reacted in the same way Isaiah did. The same result, “Yes! Send me!” But I have been in relationship with the Divine for too long to assume that I am unclean. I hope and pray, beloved reader, that if/when the “Image” of the Divine is given to you – you would act on it and answer the call of your Lord God. Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.